Le laboratoire


The Laboratory of Climatology gathers two professors-researchers, six active researchers and about ten scientific collaborators. The laboratory is part of the Physical and Quaternary Geography Unit of the Geography Department (Faculty of Science) and of the research unit SPHERES of the University of Liege.

  • The Laboratory provides numerous teachings (including climatology and meteorology) for several study sections at the bachelor, master and complementary master levels. It is more specifically concerned with the particular specialised training in topoclimatology, zonal climatology, applied climatology, programming and remote sensing applied to climatology, regional climate modelling, etc., in the framework of the Master in Climatology that it coordinates with the help of the AGO Department and that gives access to applied research and to the professions of Meteorologist and Climatologist-Expert
  • Climate science plays a significant role in the laboratory's activities, through numerous research projects and publications. The fields covered are essentially climatology applied to the spatial and temporal variability of local and regional climates, the realisation of up-to-date meteorological data campaigns and the modelling of regional and stationary climates.
  • The Laboratory enjoys strong international recognition. It plays an important role in consortia and research networks, as well as in Belgian public and private organizations concerned with climate variability. It has an efficient internal computer network.
  • The Laboratory produces continuous weather forecasts for Belgium.

History

The teaching of climatology appeared at the University of Liege in the Geography program from 1949, the year of the restructuring of the courses of Professor Paul FOURMARIER, in charge of the Geology and Physical Geography courses.

  • At this date, Professor Paul MACAR - in charge of the Physical Geography course-integrated an important chapter of climatology independently of the meteorology course assigned to Professor PAUWEN, Professor of Astronomy.
  • When Professor PAUWEN became emeritus in 1963, Professor MACAR was entrusted with the meteorology course that he taught from 1963 to 1968. André HUFTY, who was an assistant at that time, was the author of the first doctoral thesis in climatology at the Faculty of Sciences: "Local climates in the Liège region". This thesis was defended in 1966.
  • In 1968, upon his return from Lubumbashi, Jean ALEXANDRE, Professor at the University of Lubumbashi from 1957 to 1968, was appointed Associate Professor in the department of Professor MACAR. Professor MACAR entrusted him with his courses in climatology and meteorology. Since 1967, three assistants have succeeded each other in the climatology laboratory: Adrien LAURANT until 1976, Dimitri BELAYEW from 1977 to 1978 and then Michel ERPICUM until 1985.
  • In 1976, Professor ALEXANDRE took over from Professor MACAR as head of the climatology and meteorology courses. The laboratory then operated under his direction until October 1991 with the realization of numerous theses and several dissertations in climatology and geomorphology. It is in 1974 that the first thesis in climatology was presented by Michel ERPICUM to the Department of Geography.
  • Since 1992, Michel ERPICUM has taken over the direction of the Laboratory by specializing in the field of topoclimatology with 4 researchers. Since September 2007, the Laboratory has been strengthened in the field of modelling by the recruitment of Xavier FETTWEIS, a graduate in mathematics (ULg) and doctor in climatology (UCL).
  • As of January 1, 2012, the Laboratory had 8 researchers (4 in topoclimatology and applied climatology and 4 in regional modelling mainly of Greenland and Western Europe).
  • On October 1, 2013, Xavier FETTWEIS was promoted to FNRS researcher-qualified and has been leading the lab since the departure of Prof. Michel ERPICUM promoted to Emeritus on October 1, 2017.

Share this page

Le Laboratoire de climatologie regroupe deux enseignants-chercheurs, six chercheurs actifs et une petite dizaine de collaborateurs scientifiques. Le Laboratoire fait partie de l’Unité de Géographie Physique et Quaternaire du Département de Géographie (Faculté des Sciences) et de l'Unité de recherches SPHERES de l’Université de Liège.

  • Le Laboratoire assure de nombreux enseignements (incluant la climatologie et la météorologie) pour plusieurs sections d’études aussi bien au niveau bachelier que master et master complémentaire. Il est plus spécifiquement concerné par la formation particulièrement pointue en topoclimatologie, climatologie zonale, climatologie appliquée, programmation et télédétection appliquées à la climatologie, modélisation régionale des climats, etc, dans le cadre du Master en Climatologie qu’il coordonne avec l’aide du Département AGO et qui donne accès aux recherches appliquées et aux professions de Météorologiste et de Climatologue-Expert.
  • La occupe une place prépondérante dans les activités du Laboratoire, au travers de nombreux projets de recherche et de publications. Les domaines couverts sont essentiellement la climatologie appliquée à la variabilité spatiale et temporelle des climats locaux et régionaux, la réalisation de campagnes de données météorologiques instrumentales « up-to-date » et à la modélisation des climats régionaux et stationnels.
  • Le Laboratoire jouit d’une forte reconnaissance internationale. Il joue un rôle important auprès de consortiums et réseaux de recherches et auprès d’organismes publics et privés belges concernés par la variabilité du climat. Il jouit d’un réseau informatique interne performant.
  • Le Laboratoire établit des prévisions météorologiques en continu pour la Belgique.

Historique

L'enseignement de la climatologie est apparu à l'Université de Liège au programme de la Géographie à partir de 1949, année de la restructuration des cours du Professeur Paul FOURMARIER, titulaire des enseignements de la Géologie et de la Géographie Physique.

  • A cette date, le Professeur Paul MACAR - chargé du cours de Géographie Physique - y a intégré un important chapitre de climatologie indépendamment du cours de météorologie attribué au Professeur PAUWEN, Professeur d'Astronomie.
  • Lors de l'éméritat du professeur PAUWEN en 1963, le Professeur MACAR s’est vu confié le cours de météorologie qu'il a assumé de 1963 à 1968. André HUFTY, qui remplissait les fonctions d'assistant à cette époque fut l'auteur de la première thèse de doctorat en climatologie à la Faculté des Sciences : "Les climats locaux dans la région liégeoise". Cette thèse fut défendue en 1966.
  • En 1968, à son retour de Lubumbashi, Jean ALEXANDRE, Professeur à l'Université de cette ville de 1957 à 1968, a été nommé Professeur Associé dans le service du Professeur MACAR. Celui-ci lui a alors confié ses cours de climatologie et de météorologie. Depuis 1967, trois assistants se sont succédés au sein du Laboratoire de climatologie : Adrien LAURANT jusqu'en 1976, Dimitri BELAYEW de 1977 à 1978 et ensuite Michel ERPICUM jusqu’en 1985.
  • En 1976, le Professeur ALEXANDRE a succédé au professeur MACAR comme titulaire des cours de climatologie et de météorologie. Le Laboratoire a ensuite fonctionné sous sa direction jusqu'en octobre 1991 avec la réalisation de nombreux mémoires et plusieurs thèses en climatologie et en géomorphologie. C’est en 1974 que le premier mémoire de climatologie a été présenté par Michel ERPICUM au Département de Géographie.
  • Depuis 1992, Michel ERPICUM a repris la direction du Laboratoire en le spécialisant dans le domaine de la topoclimatologie avec 4 chercheurs. Depuis septembre 2007, le Laboratoire s’est renforcé dans le domaine de la modélisation par le recrutement de Xavier FETTWEIS, licencié en mathématiques (ULg) et docteur en climatologie (UCL).
  • Au 1er janvier 2012, le Laboratoire comptait 8 chercheurs (4 en topoclimatologie et climatologie appliquée et 4 en modélisation régionale essentiellement du Groenland et de l’Europe occidentale).
  • Au 1er octobre 2013, Xavier FETTWEIS est promu chercheur-qualifié au FNRS et dirige le labortaoire depuis le départ du Prof. Michel ERPICUM promu à l'Eméritat le 1er octobre 2017.

Les alumni ayant défendu un mémoire en climatologie (que ce soit en licence en sciences géographiques ou en master en sciences géographiques, orientation climatologie) ont tous eu plusieurs opportunités d'emploi ou de bourse de recherche dès le début de leur carrière. On en retrouve dans des fonctions à responsabilités importantes dans des domaines très variés.

Partagez cette page